ALMBS Alumni Named 2015 EQT Students of Excellence

The American Legion Mountaineer Boys State would like to congratulate its Alumni who have been named as 2015 EQT Students of Excellence.

2015 EQT Students of Excellence

The following individuals received Renewable, 4-year, $18,000 Scholarships: Stephen Groh, Jr. (Jefferson County, Washington High School), Julian Work (Tyler County, Tyler Consolidated High School), and Ken Wu (Marshall County, John Marshall High School).

The following individuals received $1,000 Scholarships: David Claypool (Lewis County, Lewis County High School), Kristopher Creel II (Wood County, Parkersburg Catholic High School), Nolan Holley (Jackson County, Ripley High School), Noah Irving (Mineral County, Frankfurt High School), Jeffrey May (Taylor County, Grafton High School), Dalton Minger (Brooke County, Brooke County High School), Fred Rice (McDowell County, Mount View High School), Tevis Robinson (Putnam County, Hurricane High School), August Mattias Schmidt (Ohio County, Wheeling Central Catholic High School), Jeremiah Schollar (Wyoming County, Westside High School), and Thad Taylor (Cabell County, Huntington High School).

More Information

For the seventh year in a row, the EQT Students of Excellence Scholarship program has honored exceptional students throughout West Virginia with a variety of scholarship awards for higher education.

Nominations occurred through for high school seniors who will graduate in spring 2016.

EQT Corp. is an integrated energy company with an emphasis on Appalachian-area natural gas production, gathering, transmission and distribution.

The company awarded $1,000 scholarships for one student in every West Virginia county as well as five at-large scholarships scattered throughout the state. EQT also provided six complete, four-year scholarships, each up to $18,000 per year, for students interested in studying engineering, geology, computer science/information technology, energy or land management and environmental or safety science.

In order to be eligible, the senior had to be in good academic standing and maintain at least a 3.0 grade-point average. The student also must have been nominated through the Students of Excellence Scholarship Program. A student may nominate himself for a scholarship award, or may be nominated by a third party. The recipients of the awards need not have four-year college degrees as their goals; recipients may have aspirations of entering technical or trade schools or enrolling in two-year or four-year institutions of higher learning.

To be eligible for the second type of award in the Students of Excellence Scholarship Program, which provided six West Virginia high school seniors with renewable scholarships of up to $18,000 per year for up to four years of higher education, the students must work toward maintaining a degree in one of the following majors:

  1. Computer Science or Information Technology,
  2. Engineering (Petroleum, Civil, or Chemical),
  3. Energy or Land Management,
  4. Environmental Science,
  5. Geology, or
  6. Safety Science.

To be eligible for these scholarships, a narrative and/or letter of recommendation was included with the applicant’s nomination form.